One teaches, two learn

Home » Reflections, Insights, and Realizations » EDS113_Module 6 – My Lifelong Commitment to learning

EDS113_Module 6 – My Lifelong Commitment to learning

Text Widget

This is a text widget, which allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use them to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

As I study Module 6, I came to realize that there are just so many classroom assessment techniques that a teacher can employ for effective teaching and improve learning for the students. What strikes me most is the use of alternative assessment techniques.  I am at awed of how creativity and innovative techniques can impact authentic tasks to achieve better learning experience. On this particular module, I also learned that for test to be effective, it should be designed in a systematic way like setting up Table of Specifications (TOS) just to make sure that assessment is aligned with the objectives, and that the test design satisfies  the different cognitive level. This TOS is mainly use to design traditional assessment but can be improved or modified to suit alternative assessments. Moreover, I came to appreciate the use of rubrics in giving scores and how it can be used as reference for student to gauge the quality of their own work and to encourage self-assessment to improve further learning. Similarly, the use of feedback in assessment can greatly contribute to the achievement of learning goals because timely and effective feedback is meant to improve tasks.

From my experienced, most of the assessment I have had were of traditional kinds. Assessment usually consists of multiple choices, true/false, fill-in the blank, and other commonly used techniques in the classroom. I doubt if this teacher made assessment have gone thru systematic design using a TOS. I remember being frustrated at times when my expectations of certain tests or exams have failed me. Sometimes, test only consist of one type, say all multiple choice. Other times, all questions require an essay answer. And by the way, according to good teaching practises, teachers must refrain from giving the students freedom to choose and answer essays that they want to write about. Ideally, students in one class must answer the same set of questions in order for the teacher get a precise measurement of the class learning. But then again, what is more important in designing effective test is to have clear goal or purpose in doing such assessment.

Another issue for me is the use of Feedback. I have always taught that feedbacks are given after evaluating a task and that feedback are tedious and time consuming for the teachers to make. As a student, I rarely get feedbacks and if I get one, it is usually given too late and is useless already since task is already graded. In short, Feedback are not utilize in formative assessment.

 So, the question now is “What can be done?” On a personal level, I will use everything that I have learned about formative assessment, specifically assessment AS learning to enhance my learning journey. From now on, I will strive to do self-assessment, to give time to reflect and think critically of the things that I am learning. Also, I will continue to use eJournal to record my thoughts and to keep track of my progress. My immediate goal for now is to finish Professional Teaching Certification course. Given the chance to pass the Licensure Examination for Teachers, I will get into teaching so that I can be of influence to my future students. I commit to employing different assessment techniques especially the non-traditional assessment since this have more bearing on the formative learning of students. Of course, traditional assessment will still be used but it will be designed into effective assessment that helps student realized their learning goals and become independent learners as well. Also, I will encourage my future co-teachers to do peer teaching; learning from them and learning with them. Ultimately, my long-time goal is to become fellow learner with students and co-teachers, and altogether journey onto lifelong learning.

1 Comment

  1. ijumayam says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I am used into that kind of assessment too, traditional one. As we learned from this subject we may apply it to our future students. We should be aware of non traditional assessment as well.
    Kuddos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

