One teaches, two learn

Home » Reflections, Insights, and Realizations » EDS103_3t2016_eJournal4_Positive Attitude

EDS103_3t2016_eJournal4_Positive Attitude

Text Widget

This is a text widget, which allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use them to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

Positive Attitude

Okay, trimester is over and here I am still trying to finish tasks. I look at how many more unfinished tasks and I get so overwhelm! I have been in prayerful mode for the past days. Lord, help me! Grant me the strength and wisdom to accomplish all these. I am not giving up. Failure is not an option (Thanks teacher for that encouragement, it sure helps). Yes, I can do this! Hep hep hooray!

I think the most important behaviour a learner must acquire to thrive in a distance learning environment is having a positive attitude. It is crucial that we maintain positive outlook especially when we are experiencing difficulties in our studies. This is also related to having high self-efficacy. Self-efficacy according to Bandura is “the belief in one’s capabilities to organize and execute the courses of action required to manage prospective situations.” Simply, self-efficacy is a person’s belief in his/her ability to achieve a goal. This belief determines how a person thinks, behave, and feel. Therefore, it is important that a student has high sense of self-efficacy because s/he is more likely to get intrinsically motivated and will be more optimistic to face difficult task or challenges.

In module 4, we learn about self-efficacy. It has four sources and teachers can use various strategies to help student build their self-efficacy.

  • 1) Mastery experience. Students’ successful experience boosts self-efficacy while failures erode it. Teachers can help by providing challenging yet attainable objectives for all tasks/activities.
  • 2) Vicarious experience. Students’ strengthen their beliefs in their own abilities when they observe peers succeeding in doing task. Teachers can help by providing cooperating learning structures in which students work together and help one another. This strategy promotes more positive self-evaluations of capability and higher academic attainments.
  • 3) Verbal persuasion. Giving praise and positive feedback surely boost self-efficacy. Teachers can help by providing credible communication and timely feedback to guide the student through the task or motivate them to make their best effort.
  • 4) Emotional state. Positive attitude lifts up self-efficacy while anxiety can demoralise it. Teachers can help stabilize emotion by providing a reasonable level of stimulation that creates energizing feelings rather than causing stress by giving too many exams or reports. J

As one who is into distance learning, I can help others acquire positive attitude by giving encouragement to my peers/classmates/groupmates. In particular, encouraging those who are also lagging behind but are determine to finish the course. Being positive myself, I can influence others to do the same. On a practical level, giving comments and feedback to input of my group mate is a way of showing support, like saying that I actually read and is thankful for the sharing because you learn from it. Personally, I am grateful for those who sincerely give comments and feedback to my work too. It gives me the impression that I am actually contributing something worthwhile. This boosts my self-efficacy and consequently, maintain positive attitude that I am going to achieve my goal—slowly but surely! 🙂

 

Reference:

http://serc.carleton.edu/NAGTWorkshops/affective/efficacy.html

Leave a Reply

